The Dark Knight Rises..Legend Ends

7 Years ago, I wasnt a Batman Fan at all. For god’s sake I hated the previous movies that showed up on tele sometimes, and I hated cartoons and the comics and I disliked Batman for being a fake superhero without any real power and dressing up like a Bat.

Onwards 2012 … and things have changed for me. I can safely say, I am not alone

The Dark Knight Rises marks the end of the most illustrious franchise in Hollywood history. It was easily the most awaited movie for a long time. Hell, I watched each of its 3 trailers probably 100 times, and at each time it was worth it, loved them. I have seen the movie now, and I can honestly say from a non-fanboy perspective The movie is unbelievable, it exceeds an-insanely high expectation bar, and flirting closely with The Dark Knight as the best one in the franchise, and I know thats saying something. Strange thing is that it rarely cites or relies on Dark Knight’s success, it is more honest throwback to Batman Begins, this movie is true to Bruce Wayne and his legendary alter-ego. If the Dark Knight was about The Joker, This one is about the Batman, and rightly so . The beginning(Begins), the middle(Dark Knight) and the end(Rises) seem to provide almost perfection-like closure to the Batman legend. Mr Nolan, a big Thank You is in order.

As for the story, well its dark, gritty, gripping, immersive, emotional, inspirational, overwhelming and even funny at times. It is difficult for a movie to be exceptional in one of above aspect, doing it all in a single piece is what makes this very special. Everything in this movie is bordering on the best ever experiences I have had in an movie. I am not good enough writer to describe the epicness that Nolan and the gang has created, its a testimonial to the team, all actors- Christan Bale, Thomas Hardy, Gordon-Levitt, Anne Hathway and old-timers Micheal Caine(Oscar for Caine?- pushing it too much!), Morgan Freeman, Gary Oldman and everything from monumentally awesome background score by Zimmer, to fantastic editing, soundmixing, action cinematography, everything in Rises is there to blow you away. Especially Bane vs Batman battle would test your nerves!.
Rises features many, many characters from Batman universe and the story makes you think about each one. There are very few performances that underwhelm you in this 161 epic.

There can be critical arguments over what else more could have been delivered by Dark Knight Rises(which is expected considering it has big boots to fill-TDK, Heath Ledger), IMHO Comic book movie’s will always have this issue that however good or bad the material is, at the end of the day it is some form of related comic-book material(how so ever differently twisted) that is adapted onto the bigscreen, it will never be able to give a clean-creative-canvas for storyteller to draw on(Nolan wasnt ready for the 3rd movie after TDK, because all the material wasnt appealing enough). But I believe this movie delivers full gratification possible when you take a holistic look at the complete Batman story and what he does for Gotham. It delivers to me something better that I expected in my wildest dream. What this movie delivers is something that isnt expected of movies, it leaves me with something that I can treasure.
It was never about blowing the bubble and explore possibilities; but… as its marketing material put it nicely- “The Legend Ends”. And it does end, and my word what an ending it was for Nolan’s Batman universe.

I will rate The Dark Knight Rises just a tad above Dark Knight, as the greatest movie experience I had till date, because TDK dint had the expectation, this one had and they were real high.

It was a great work all round, not just from people involved in development and production but also from everyone involved in post-production and marketing(Thumbs up WB!).

Final words are for Nolan. Well what can I add Mr. Nolan, You have created a masterpiece, you will be forever remembered for Rising the Batman from brink. Batman is not a hero now, he is much more. Its another shining piece in your illustrious collection. You are a God amongst men.

Legend Ends. I will remember 20th July as the day I was lucky enough to experience it.

 

Update 1: Vote for this review(as “useful”) on IMDB. Here. Thanks

Update 2: If you made it till the end, you know that I am(have become) Nolan, Batman freak.

Leave a comment